CTU Bern (Clinical Trials Unit)

Organizational structure

Organigram CTU (click to enlarge)

CTU Bern and the Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine of the University of Bern are located in the same building to ensure an efficient use of the infrastructure required for clinical studies and continuing exchange and cooperation between methodologists and other clinical research staff. The supervisory body of CTU Bern is the Board of Trustees (Kuratorium).

CTU Bern is co-headed by a clinical epidemiologist (PD Dr. Sven Trelle) and a clinician-researcher (Prof. Dr. Urs Fischer) and organized in five divisions: Statistics & Methodology, Data Management, Project Coordination, Quality Assurance & Monitoring, and Clinical Investigation. These divisions provide a range of services from methodological consulting, to GCP-compliant data management solutions, central/on-site monitoring, and statistical analysis. Although the primary focus of CTU Bern lies on late phase clinical studies we have some expertise on early phase clinical trials including exploratory clinical trials.


Sven Trelle

PD Dr. Sven Trelle, is the executive co-director of CTU Bern. Originally a physician by training, Sven Trelle started to work in patient-oriented clinical research immediately after his studies, mainly in the field of haemato-oncology. There, he was working as the coordinating investigator in Phase I to IV clinical trials. Beyond that, he was a member of the Editorial Base of the Cochrane Haematological Malignancies Group (CHMG) and worked in the area of systematic reviews and meta-analyses.

Until 2008, he was employed as a clinical epidemiologist at the Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine (ISPM) Bern, what has allowed him to extend and deepen his methodological knowledge. In 2008 he was elected Associate Director of CTU Bern and was thus responsible for the day-to-day business as well as the methodological consulting of clinical researchers. Sven Trelle has obtained a second degree as Medical Statistician (MSc). The main focus of his own research is the continued development of methods for meta-analyses.

Urs Fischer

Prof. Urs Fischer MD, is the medical co-director of CTU Bern and co-chair of the Stroke Center of the Inselspital, Bern University Hospital. After finishing his studies in medicine, he completed his clinical training in Solothurn and Berne. In the course of the clinical training, he specialized in the field of Acute Neurology and Stroke Therapy. He now is co-chair of the Stroke Center Bern and head of the emergency and consultation team at the department of Neurology at the Inselspital.

Urs Fischer’s major scientific interest focusses on the medical clarification and the acute treatment of cerebrovascular diseases. At the Stroke Prevention Research Unit of the University of Oxford, he extended his qualifications in epidemiological research and the conduct of meta-analyses. Presently, he supervises and contributes to several interdisciplinary research projects, mainly with the Departments of Diagnostic and Interventional Neuroradiology, Neurosurgery, Neuropaediatrics, Psychiatry as well as the Emergency Department of the University Hospital. Together with Prof. Jürgen Beck, Head Physician of Neurosurgery, he is the Co-Principal Investigator of the current SWITCH trial (www.switch-trial.ch).

Board of Trustees (Kuratorium)

The Board of Trustees is the supervisory body of CTU Bern. As such, it approves the budget including financial planning and the strategy of the CTU in cooperation with the Co-Directors. It also represents the interest of the clinical researchers within the Faculty of Medicine and its institutions.

Prof. C. Aebi, Universitätsklinik für Kinderheilkunde, Inselspital
Prof. D. Aujesky, Universitätsklinik für Allgemeine Innere Medizin, Inselspital
Prof. C. Bassetti (Co-Chair), Universitätsklinik für Neurologie, Inselspital
Frau Prof. I. Baumgartner (Co-Chair), Universitätsklinik für Angiologie, Inselspital
Prof. G. Beldi, Universitätsklinik für Viszerale Chirurgie und Medizin, Inselspital
Prof. M. Egger, Institut für Sozial- und Präventivmedizin, Universität Bern
Prof. M. Gugger, Direktion Lehre und Forschung, Inselspital
Prof. M. Rubin, Departement Klinische Forschung, Universität Bern
Prof. Ch. Stettler, Universitätsklinik für Endokrinologie, Diabetologie und klinische Ernährung, Inselspital
Prof. A. Stuck, Universitätsklinik für Allgemeine Innere Medizin, Inselspital
Prof. D. Surbek, Universitätsklinik für Frauenheilkunde, Inselspital
Prof. G. Thalmann, Universitätsklinik für Urologie, Inselspital
Prof. St. Windecker, Universitätsklinik für Kardiologie, Inselspital